FBHOF Names 2018 Inductees

Photos: Damon Gonzalez

The 8th annual SJC Boxing Open house was packed with the Who’s Who of boxing as the FBHOF announced the Class of 2018. This was a special event as it was the 10th Class of Inductees and the crowd was enthusiastic and excited. The FBHOF Board of Directors surprised President and CEO Walter “Butch” and Kathy Flansburg with a special plaque, wine glasses and long-stem roses in appreciation for their leadership, vision and service during these ten years.

Fighters: Cornelius Boza-Edwards, Christy Salters Martin, Mark Lanton, Steven Frank, Bobby Cassidy, Derrick Gainer, Johnny Williams and Lemuel Nelson.

Trainers: Patrick Burns and Jorge Rubio.

Promoter: Joe Scheafer (deceased).

Media: Tom Archdeacon, Rene Giraldo and Edwin Pope (deceased).

Participants: Don Kahn, Johnny Torres and Murray Gaby (deceased).

Officials/Commission: Don Balas, Rocky Young and Bernard Soto (deceased).

The FBHOF also announced that Ruben DeJesus and the late Ben Getty will receive special “Lifetime Achievement Awards.”

The Induction weekend will be June 22, 23 and 24, 2018 in Tampa. Check their site for info: www.floridaboxinghalloffame.com

Published by


Editor of LatinBox Communications

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s